Yoga is an ancient Indian practice and till this day, yoga language is Sanskrit – the language spoken in ancient India. It is, therefore, ideal to know a few Sanskrit words in order to get by in the yoga class.


Asana – originally means “sitting down” but nowadays it refers to the physical yoga postures.

Ashtanga – literally means “having eight limbs or parts”. It derives from Patanjali who wrote the Yoga Sutras and described yoga as consisting of eight parts; yama (abstinences), niyama (observances), asana (postures), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation) and samadhi (absorption). The eight limbs are central to the Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga we practice in Earth Yoga.

Bandha – the contraction of muscles or ‘locks’ that prevents energy from escaping the body.

Chakra – energy centres in the body placed in the direct line from head going down through the spine

Drishti – focused gaze, typically at the end of the nose.

Namaste – a traditional greeting meaning “I bow to the divine in you”.

Om – a sacred mantra that signifies the essence of the ultimate reality

Pranayama – characterise the controlled practice of the breath

Shala – is another word for a yoga studio

Ujjayi – is the name for a special breathing technique which is basically breathing with sound.

Yoga – the word has several meanings, amongst them are ”union”, ”concentration”, ”a path” and ”relation”.

Contact Us


You can book your passes and classes on the Mindbody programme. To do this, please click the button below or download the app.



Address: Earth Yoga
Odense C, Denmark

Phone: +45 42 36 58 14
CVR: 37153303




Subscribe to our newsletter to find out more about what is happening in Earth Yoga